But before Parliament closed for the Christmas holidays, MPs approved Mr Johnson`s bill by 358 votes to 234. There was a change in the law in the remaining phases. This was proposed by MP Ian Blackford and proposed that a third reading of the bill be rejected because the Scottish people voted overwhelmingly to remain in the European Union. This proposal was rejected by 329 votes to 62. After the historic vote, President Sassoli said: “It makes me deeply sad to think that we are at this point. Fifty years of integration cannot be solved so easily. We will all have to work hard to build a new relationship that always focuses on the interests and protection of civil rights. It will not be easy. There will be difficult situations that will put our future relationship to the test. We knew this since the beginning of Brexit. But I am sure that we will be differentiated and that we will always find common ground. When the bill returned to the House of Commons on June 20, the government offered further concessions. The concessions led the government to win by 319 votes to 303: a majority of 16.

[61] [62] In a debate with Croatian State Secretary for European Affairs Nikolina Brnjac, on behalf of the Council Presidency, Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and EU Chief Negotiator Michel Barnier, Parliament took stock of the withdrawal process so far and the challenges ahead. The bill has now moved on to the second phase of the parliamentary process – the so-called committee phase. It will be analysed in detail over the next three days, with MEPs proposing amendments. All proposed amendments to the motion were defeated. The motion itself was then defeated by a margin of 303 to 259, in part due to the abstention of the Conservative GROUP`s group of MEPs from the European Research Group, which objected that the motion appeared to rule out an exit from the EU without a withdrawal agreement. [88] On December 22, British lawmakers will vote in favor of Prime Minister Johnson`s EU withdrawal law, which enshrines in law a january 31, 2020 withdrawal date. Securing a majority to pass the bill in the House of Commons proved to be a major sticking point for the prime minister, but after a general election, Johnson`s Conservative Party won control of the House and the bill passed by a majority of 124 votes. Labour MP Keir Starmer has called on Conservative MPs who want Britain to remain in the EU to vote with Labour for the Lords` amendment when the bill returns to the House of Commons,[36][37] and former Labour Prime Minister Gordon Brown has suggested that May could be replaced by a new Conservative prime minister if she loses the vote. [38] Prominent Conservative Amber Rudd called on her party`s MPs to support the government in the vote. [36] The three Labour MPs who voted for the deal were Ian Austin, Kevin Barron and John Mann. .

Ha tetszett oszd meg másokkal is:
Posted in Egyéb kategória